Cannot navigate records in form (1 Viewer)

eildon

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 20:02
I am pretty new with this so pls excuse ignorance. I have designed a form based on a table. I have used a macro to go to a new record(append) when form is opened. Trouble is after I open form the navigation buttons on buttom will not move between records as if it is locked. I searched forum firts but could not see an answer, so sorry if this has already been covered.
Thx

missinglinq

AWF VIP
Local time
Today, 06:02
I have used a macro to go to a new record(append) when form is opened.

Where is this macro located and what does it contain? Few of us here use macros, with the possible exception of AutoExec and AutoKeys, opting instead to use VBA code. If you've opened your form in append mode, as your post suggests, then all you can do is add records. You cannot view existing records. Setting the form's Data Entry Property to Yes does the same thing.

With Data Entry Property set to No you can use this code to always open the form to a new record, while still retaining the ability to scroll thru existing records.

Code:
Private Sub Form_Load()
  DoCmd.GoToRecord , , acNewRec
End Sub

eildon

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 20:02
Thanks for reply missing....

Thanks for that. I used the code instead of the macro and checked the properties and it works fine. I am teaching my self again as I use to write applications in dBase iv back in the 80's, and havn't programmed anything since except a few bits and pieces. Its taking a bit to get to know where everything fits.

two things. I have made a couple of scroll up scroll down cmd boxes to click and move thru records instead of having a nav bar at the bottom. Is that the best way to look at records or would you suggest something else??.

one more....

Is there a way I can put together an app and have it as a stand alone app without the framework of access around it?.

boblarson

Smeghead
Local time
Today, 03:02