DB Software (1 Viewer)

GoodLife22

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 04:51
I am getting ready to make a brand new DB in access that will be a big task. I am pretty new to DBS in general. I am looking for some type of software which will assist in the design and development part of the task. Has anyone used any 3rd party tools which work well for the initial DB design? Maybe something which allows me to build the tables & relationships layout first easily?

ChipperT

Banned in 13 Countries
Local time
Today, 02:51
I am getting ready to make a brand new DB in access that will be a big task. I am pretty new to DBS in general. I am looking for some type of software which will assist in the design and development part of the task. Has anyone used any 3rd party tools which work well for the initial DB design? Maybe something which allows me to build the tables & relationships layout first easily?

Sure! It is called Access 2010 (or 2007 or earlier versions). The Wizards will help you. But first you need to learn a bit about db design. No software will do that for you. Just look up tutorials on Google.

boblarson

Smeghead
Local time
If you have Visio, you can design your data structure there.

GoodLife22

Registered User.
Local time
I think we do have a copy of visio somewhere. I will play with that. Thank you.

Simon_MT

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 09:51
The point of the application is the business requirement.

What is worse? A application that is untidy but satisfies the business requirement or something that is pretty and doesn't work [the polite version].

Yes, data structures are important (don't laugh Bob) but they should be addressed after you have a firm idea of scope of the project. Don't rush to the data structure as the carpenter will tell you 'measure twice cut once'.

Simon

boblarson

Smeghead
Local time