Query for years of service (1 Viewer)

PeggyC09

Registered User.
Local time
Yesterday, 19:05
So I'm new to Access and need help to run a query counting up the number of years someone has worked an event. I have a table with 5000 people and the columns tell if they were a volunteer (vol), if they withdrew (wd) etc for each year (2017-1992). Each year has it's own column.

I need to find out who is getting 25, 20, 15, 20 and 5 year awards in 2018 without going back to excel (very tempting).

Can someone walk me through this?

Gasman

Enthusiastic Amateur
Local time
Today, 03:05
I think you'd be better off in Excel as your data is Excel orientated.

In access you would have a table along the lines of
AutoNumber
YearID
StatusID
VolunteerID

The IDs could just be the actual data as well.

Then you would just easily count Status/StatusID for those that have vol and do the math from there. As you have each year in a column that does not lend itself to Access.

With Excel just use SumIf and probably a Vlookup? or Ceiling?, just something to see what band they fall into for a reward.

PeggyC09

Registered User.
Local time
I'm trying to switch over from Excel so understanding is really the issue. I'm not sure where the years should go in what you are saying...

Attachments

• Database1.accdb
    328 KB · Views: 731

mike60smart

Registered User.
Local time
Hi

Would this be the result you would want?

Status.JPG

PeggyC09

Registered User.
Local time
Hi

Would this be the result you would want?

View attachment 68183

I think that is the result of how many people worked each event. I'm looking for the result of how many events each person worked (Luke worked 2 events, Sam worked 3 and Carol worked 2.)