Reusing VBA Code (1 Viewer)

Lateral

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 10:22
Hi guys,

Whilst I am still learning about Access and VBA I'm not a total "newbie" and have developed a large application.

I now want to tidy up the code so as I have a lot of code duplicated from form to form. For example, I have a form (called Form1) that has a number of buttons that have "On Click" events that initiate some VBA code such as generate a report etc. I then want to create another form (Form2) that does some other stuff as well as have a button that also runs the same report that was able to be run on Form1.

In order to do this I just copy and past the code from Form1 to Form2 button On Click event...

This all works fine except when I have to change the VBA code I need to change it in 2 places.

I thought that I could create a new module and then create a Function and then call that function but I am getting errors when I compile the VBA code saying "Invalid Use of ME keyword" as I assume due to me creating variables and then setting them to controls on the forms:

Dim mCompanyName As Variant
Dim mReminderCount As Variant

mReminderCount = Me.ReminderCount
mCompanyName = Me.CompanyName

Am I missing something?

Is there a way to tell VBA to automatically "include" a chunk of code?

Thanks for your help

Cheers
Greg

MarkK

bit cruncher
Local time
'Me' is an object reference, and so only makes sense if you are programming with class modules, which includes Access.Form objects. In a standard module there is no 'thing,' no object, just a collection of executable routines, and so the concept of Me as an object reference is not defined.

Try creating a class, and see how that differs from what you are doing. At least in that case the Me reference will not raise that error.

hth
Mark

Galaxiom

Super Moderator
Staff member
Local time
Tomorrow, 04:22
Me cannot be used in a standard module because it refers to the associated Object .