Running submacro in a loop a variable number of times (1 Viewer)

Sdata

Local time
Yesterday, 22:15
I am trying to create a macro running a submacro that will repeat the submacro a variable number of times. I am not a programmer so I would like to stay within the macro format rather than code in VBA if possible.

The submacro has a query to reduce the number in RepeatCount by 1 each time the submacro runs. Here is the visual of the macro command.

RunMacro
Macro Name: MacroToRepeat
Repeat Count:
Repeat Expression = [RepeatCountTable]![RepeatCount] > 0

I tried many variations of the Repeat Expression but kept receiving the error “Microsoft Access cannot find the name ‘RepeatCountTable’ you entered in the expression.” Researching for a solution lead me to the Microsoft Access help website telling me “If you run a macro containing the RunMacro macro action in a library database, Access looks for the macro with this name in the library database and doesn’t look for it in the current database”

Is there an easy way to get around this error? Referencing libraries is way above my knowledge base.

Thank you.

theDBguy

I’m here to help
Staff member
Local time
Hi. If you're not using a library database, then this note shouldn't affect you. Where would the number of times to repeat the macro supposed to come from?

pbaldy

Wino Moderator
Staff member
Local time
I don't use macros but you can't get a table value that way. See if this works:

DLookup("[RepeatCount]", "[RepeatCountTable]")

Sdata

Local time
Thanks everyone for responding quickly.

I used Access to covert my macro to visual basic. However, when I attempt to type in DLookup("[RepeatCount]","[RepeatCountTable]") I get Compile error expected: =