Newbie question: linking fields in Access (1 Viewer)

K

kemperr

Hello, I am a newbie and would appreciate some novice information.

I have two tables, table 1 and table 2
Table 2 contains a long list of names each with an ID.
Table 1 contains just a few entries, each with an ID, which would correspond to the ID in table 2. I want to have a field in Table 1 that is the name associated with the ID in Table 2. How do I query Table 2 with the unique ID to have it pull the name into the name field of table 1?

I can provide any additional information.
Thanks for helping me to get started!
Josh

Fuga

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 09:04
Does it look like this:

tbl 1
ID
Namefield1

Tbl 2
ID
Namefield2
etc

and the two ID fields correspond?

In that case, make an update query joined on the two ID fields and put [namefield1] in the "update to" row of namefield2.

Fuga.

Pat Hartman

Super Moderator
Staff member
Local time
Today, 03:04
There is no reason to store the name field in both tables. Simply base your form or report on a query that joins the two tables whenever you need the name field to be available.

K

kemperr

Thank you very much for your help.

Pat:
The reason I want to update a field is because I am accessing the data from the table via an active server page (ODBC Data Source) , and I am not familiar on how to do this using a report or a form. I would not want to try to access the larger table via ODBC, because it contains so many entries.

Fuga: