Login to SQL db when open Access database (1 Viewer)

sphere_monk

Registered User.
Local time
Yesterday, 21:22
Relative VB newbie here.

I have an Access database that has some linked SQL tables in it. The problem is that users get a "SQL Login" screen the first time a field in a form is used that accesses the SQL tables after opening the Access database.

I know there is a way to login to the SQL database when you open the Access database, but I just can't put my finger on it in the books I have.

Could someone please point me in the right direction?

Thanks.

crosmill

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 02:22
you mean SQL Server?

I think problem is with access permisions on the SQL Server. if you give each user access rights to the (SQL Server) database with Windows Authentication then I think it will sort it out.

chris

sphere_monk

Registered User.
Local time
OK, I set up a user in SQL Server that has the same UserID that I am logged onto the Windows 2000 Server with (where SQL Server 7.0 resides) and given that user access to the database in SQL Server Security. (We're using Windows 2000 Pro on our workstations as well). I also added the following code to the Startup form's Load event:

Dim cnn As ADODB.Connection
Set cnn = New ADODB.Connection

With cnn
.Provider = "SQLOLEDB"
.Properties("Data Source") = "PowerEdge1300"
.Properties("Initial Catalog") = "BWD"
.Properties("Integrated Security") = "SSPI"
.Open
End With

I restarted the database and still get that pesky SQL Login screen when I try to input data into a linked table field for the first time. Did I miss something?

crosmill

Registered User.
Local time
hmmmm ok, lets go back a few steps. Is there reason your coding the conneciton yourself. Can you not just use the wizard in Access to set it up?

sphere_monk

Registered User.
Local time
I'm not sure what you mean....