Using Checkboxes to select multiple fields in an iif query (1 Viewer)

youngerpants

Local time
Today, 17:40
Hi all,

Firstly, I'm an ex-fulltime access developer who has found himself doing access work again 6 years later; I can't actually believe how much I've forgotten :s

Anyway, I've done a search and havn't found anything that can help me so wondered if anyone could give some advice.

I have an access form with 3 combo boxes and a checkbox next to each of them. these are accessed using a query with 3 iif statements in it stating; (iif checkbox is null, "*", combo_box_value). the whole query looks like this

SELECT Customers.*
FROM Customers
WHERE (((Customers.Partner)=IIf(Forms!frm_rpt_main!check_partner Is Null,"*",Forms!frm_rpt_main!partner)) AND ((Customers.[Type Business])=IIf(Forms!frm_rpt_main!check_type Is Null,"*",Forms!frm_rpt_main!type)) AND ((Customers.[Year End Month])=IIf(Forms!frm_rpt_main!check_month Is Null,"*",Forms!frm_rpt_main!month)));

However, the query only seems to want to pull data from all 3 combo boxes

My issue is that if a checkbox is not ticked, I want the values to be ignored for all 3 combo's.

I've attached a copy of the mdb file as my description probably doesnt make any sense, the specific query is "qry_select_month_partner_type_wname_frm_rpt"

Thanking you all in advance for your help!

Younger

Attachments

• Copy of db_lr.zip
    41.8 KB · Views: 213

youngerpants

Local time
Sorry, I should have added that each seperate iif works independently of the others, its only when all 3 are there that I have issues

Cheers

Y

Pat Hartman

Super Moderator
Staff member
Local time
Today, 13:40
SELECT Customers.*
FROM Customers
WHERE (Customers.Partner=Forms!frm_rpt_main!check _partner or Forms!frm_rpt_main!partner Is Null) AND (Customers.[Type Business]=Forms!frm_rpt_main!check_type or Forms!frm_rpt_main!type Is Null) AND (Customers.[Year End Month]=Forms!frm_rpt_main!check_month or Forms!frm_rpt_main!month Is Null);

youngerpants