Access Continuous Form Problem (1 Viewer)

ChrisBez

New member
Local time
Today, 08:38
Joined
Feb 17, 2020
Messages
17
I have been an Access developer for more than 15 years so I am embarrassed that I can’t fix this problem.



I have a continuous sub form where each record has an ID field as primary key, a text field, and I display a fixed picture in an image box.

There is an on double click event on the image. When I double-click any image it always selects the first record. I msgbox the ID and it is always the first record.

What am I missing?

Any help would be most appreciated and might just save my sanity!!
 

bob fitz

AWF VIP
Local time
Today, 08:38
Joined
May 23, 2011
Messages
4,719
Can you show us the code you have for the Double Click event
 

arnelgp

..forever waiting... waiting for jellybean!
Local time
Today, 15:38
Joined
May 7, 2009
Messages
19,232
is the imagebox also in the subform?
 

ChrisBez

New member
Local time
Today, 08:38
Joined
Feb 17, 2020
Messages
17
Can you show us the code you have for the Double Click event

Thanks for respondin, Bob
Here is the code; it is the first line that is the wrong ID
Private Sub FolderImage_DblClick(Cancel As Integer)

Dim FullPath As String
Dim WhereClause As String
Dim FolderName As String
Dim CallingFormName As String

'-----------------------------------------------------------------------------
' The FileFolderID is always the first one
' not the one I click on
'-----------------------------------------------------------------------------
MsgBox Me.FileFolderID

WhereClause = "FileFolderID=" & Me.FileFolderID
FolderName = Nz(DLookup("FolderName", "FileFolderT", WhereClause))
'Stop
WhereClause = "DisplayFileName=" & Wrap(FolderName)
FullPath = Nz(DLookup("FullName", "FileFolderT", WhereClause))
ClearTable "FilefolderT"
StoreFolders FullPath
DoCmd.Close acForm, "FolderF"
CallingFormName = Me.Parent.CallingFormName
OpenMyForm "FolderF", CallingFormName
Forms("FolderF").CurrentSelection.Caption = FolderName

End Sub
 

MajP

You've got your good things, and you've got mine.
Local time
Today, 03:38
Joined
May 21, 2018
Messages
8,525
I tested this using an image control. Since it cannot take focus clicking on an image control does not select the record where you are clicking. I would put a cmd button or something else.
 

ChrisBez

New member
Local time
Today, 08:38
Joined
Feb 17, 2020
Messages
17
Thank you I will set up a button and put my image on that.
I will go and test it now.
It didn't occur to me that the image is not in the record. Duh!!!
 

ChrisBez

New member
Local time
Today, 08:38
Joined
Feb 17, 2020
Messages
17
Thank you Majp, sanity returns, it had to be something daft but I just could not see it.
I set up a square button and added a picture to it.
I also realised that a button can have a double click event. In all these years I have always set up buttons with a single click, but in this case, a double click is more appropriate....unless my user tells me different :O)
Thanks again for your help.
 

ChrisBez

New member
Local time
Today, 08:38
Joined
Feb 17, 2020
Messages
17
This is feedback on my continuous form problem. I offer my solution in the hope that it may help someone in the future.

Having changed my image control to a button the selection worked perfectly thanks to Majp’s help.

Now to pretty it up. The button control would not use my picture which was an icon file (.ico) that I had used in my image control. It then got worse because a button picture does not auto-scale as an image control does.

My solution was to re-instate the image control then put a button of the exact size over the top of the image. The button and its border were then set to transparent. The double-click event was then applied to the invisible button.

The result is that the user sees a picture that when clicked, performs the action. Perfect.

Now on to my next challenge, but I will open another thread for that.

Thanks again to those who responded to my question.
 

Users who are viewing this thread

Top Bottom