Access Data Errors When Running, But Not in Debug Mode (Synchronous or Parallel??) (1 Viewer)

dasmit

Local time
Today, 09:03
Hello--

I am not an experienced programmer, but do so programming on the side. The party I am assisting has an Access database split into a front end and back end, connected (via ODBC link) to SQL tables in different SQL databases.

The issue: When running the code for certain processing, data that I download from SQL tables into local tables is corrupted -- the data is just incorrect and may, for example, include an extra record. But, when I step through the code in debug mode, the data downloads perfectly and without an extra data or errors. (Specifically, the code does a bunch of things, including calling an API that posts a transaction and then returns some data. When running, the returned data seems to include additional entries that they get logged. If I delete the log and look up the data in the original SQL tables and redownload, the information doesn't include the extraneous entries. Also, if I step through the code, I have no errors/extraneous data.)

I am assuming this is something with the way the queries are running with the SQL database providing data (since Access VBA is synchronous I believe), but don't know how to force my code to make sure the data that is returned is correct and act as if I am stepping through the code in debug.

Of course, it is possible that this error is causing these type of problems that someone in this group may know about.

Any help, suggestions, or thoughts would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you!

theDBguy

I’m here to help
Staff member
Local time
Hi. Welcome to AWF! You are correct that Access is single-threaded, so it's quite possible there is some timing issue going on that is not evident when you step through the code because you are introducing a time delay when you do that. If so, you might try inserting some time delays in strategic places in your code to see if it will help.

dasmit