Access database engine not enabled by default? (1 Viewer)

ysdai

Local time
Yesterday, 19:17
Hi,

I'm not a professional developer, just someone who knows some VBA and SQL, with just enough database knowledge to put some things together.

I'm currently working on an Access (Office365 64-bit) front end that uses linked tables stored in a MySQL server on Ubuntu (via ODBC drivers).
This is the second one I'm developing (Project 2), the first one (Project 1) also has linked tables on Ubuntu-MySQL.
However, there are some issues in Project 2 that I didn't encounter in the Project 1.

First of all, the DAO objects were unavailable (DAO.Database, DAO.Recordset, etc) until I manually made a reference to "Microsoft Office 16.0 Access database object." In Project 1, they were there by default, and the DAO reference was checked by default.

Then I was having trouble filtering my subform through controls on the main form, which I could easily accomplish in Project 1. After screwing around for hours, I found that the SQL syntax on Project 2 is different. The wildcard character, which is "*" in Access SQL, became "%", like in MySQL. I'm not very good at the language so I'm not sure if it's using the SQL Server syntax or that of MySQL, but it's no longer the same as in Project 1.

I created both projects using the same computer, on the same installation of MS Office. But the preloaded stuff are different. I'm assuming that Project 2 is not running on the default Access database engine? I was able to work around all the issues that arose until now, but I really have no idea what actually happened. Can someone shed a light on this?

CJ_London

Super Moderator
Staff member
Local time
Today, 03:17
difficult to advise without seeing things like your connections strings, the type of sql for your form recordsources, your odbc drivers for example.

If you are using DAO then you would use *. For sql server and mySQL you use %.