Access VBA (1 Viewer)

MannyST

Local time
Today, 10:24
Hi all, so I'm new to VBA and other scripting, but must say I have learned a lot from those who have helped me. I saved the more complicated tasks that I'm trying to accomplish for last. So I'll do my best to describe what I'm trying to accomplish I'm dealing with a product table/file. 1000's of items with various fields. The field i'm working is "Categories" field which is comprised of joining data from other fields once scripts have been ran on table. The following is an example of the end result of what i'm trying to accomplish:
Default Category/Area Rugs/Area Rugs Catalog,
Default Category/Area Rugs/Rug Colors/Red Rugs,
Default Category/Area Rugs/Rug Sizes/3x4 Rugs,
Default Category/Area Rugs/Rug Patterns/Graphic Rugs,
Default Category/Area Rugs/Rug Brands/Mohawk,
Default Category/Area Rugs/Rug Styles/Contemporary Rugs

The fields that must be searched are named "Colors, Size, Pattern, Brand, Style. That is their name, but the example is how data needs to be returned to the "Categories" field in the exact format/name. I need to run a script for every item and then return the example above.

Can anyone guide me in the right direction?

Last edited:

Micron

AWF VIP
Local time
You want to create a multi value field (a type of mvf where several values are concatenated into one string)? Usually a bad idea. Can provide some context as to why, assuming I've interpreted your end goal correctly? No idea how the "Default Category" string fits into the desired output as it doesn't seem to be a field name.

Pat Hartman

Super Moderator
Staff member
Local time
Mushing the fields together is not the correct solution.

If you want to make a list that looks like what you posted, you would use a query.

Select Colors, Size, Pattern, Brand, Style From Yourtable
Group By Colors, Size, Pattern, Brand, Style
Order by Colors, Size, Pattern, Brand, Style;