Solved .adp -> .accdb migration (1 Viewer)

SuperShin

Local time
Today, 07:00
Hi everyone, I'm a long time Access developer and I'm migrating an .adp over to a linked table .accdb with a MSSQL backend.

No big deal on the actual import of modules/forms/reports and I linked all the tables (althought it names every table dbo_[name of table] which is kind of annoying but Ill write a function to rename all the links later, my biggest head scratch is in some of the old code that used to work in 2010 access on an .adp that no longer works on 365:

I have a form with a list box to do a lookup on the form on the listbox after update code I have:

Code:
   ' Find the record that matches the control.
    Dim rs As Object

Set rs = Me.Recordset.clone

rs.Find "[Station ID] = " & Str(Nz(Me![Combo16], 0))
    If Not rs.EOF Then Me.Bookmark = rs.Bookmark

this ends in object doesn't support this method or property.

Now what I've done to try and get it to work is change rs from object to dao.recordset -- no go then i get a type mismatch on set rs=Me.recordset.

trying this gets me member not found on rs.find

Code:
Dim rs As DAO.Recordset

Set rs = Me.Recordset.Clone

rs.Find "[Station ID] = " & Me.Combo16

I've tried using adodb.recordset clones and had no luck either. What am I missing here? This is a common technique all throughout the large .adp file so whatever works ill do it, but this also always worked for a standard .accdb file with linked tables to another .accdb file also so I'm confused as to why it no longer works, now that im using odbc to link to SQL

Thanks!

David

Last edited:

NauticalGent

Ignore List Poster Boy
Local time
Hi David, just a thought but whenever I use this type of search method, I've always used rs.FindFirst - give it a shot, what do you have to lose?

I THINK the issue is the recordset type: rs.Find is designed for ADO objects and FindFirst is for DAO which is what you Dim'd it as. Again, this is just my understanding and I could be wrong...