ADP - variables to pass to Stored Proc (1 Viewer)

Adrianna

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 12:24
Okay,
I've searched and found a lot of unasnwered questions. I've been using DAO and not ADO forever, so bare with me here (also been away from VBA for a while). I've created an adp file (access 2003) linked to a SQL 2005 database. I would like to loop through tTableNames and pass the field tableName into two sequential stored procs until all tableName fields in the tTableName table have been processed. Seems super straight forward, but I've never done it before. I don't believe that I need to establish a "connection" because the adp already has me connected to the data. So, I would assume :( that I should just be able to pass the variable as the input parameter (@tableNm) into the stored proc?

Thanks!

pdx_man

Just trying to help
Local time
Today, 09:24
Well, since you're in the SQL Server Forum, I will give you the SQL Server answer. This should be run totally on SQL Server, not with VBA. Since you are using a SP, I can assume that the tables you are processing are also SQL Server tables, and your tTableNames table is also a SQL Table containing the names of the SQL Tables to be processed.
Code:
Create Procedure dbo.proc_GoodName

DECLARE tables_cursor CURSOR
    FOR
    SELECT TheField FROM tTableNames WHERE type = 'U'

OPEN tables_cursor
DECLARE @tablename sysname

FETCH NEXT FROM tables_cursor INTO @tablename

WHILE (@@FETCH_STATUS <> -1)

BEGIN

EXEC YourProc @tablename)
    FETCH NEXT FROM tables_cursor INTO @tablename

END
DEALLOCATE tables_cursor

Adrianna

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 12:24