Append Query Advice (1 Viewer)

MattBaldry

Self Taught, Learn from the Forums
Local time
Today, 11:38
Hello all,

Is there a way of doing an append query, but a single row at a time to enable the creation of a counted progress label.

I have a table in Sage50 that I want to append to an SQL table so I can use the data faster. It is a transaction log that I use for some reports and it grows hourly.

As of time of typing there are 173,786 lines. If I append them in 1 go, I have no idea where the import is. If I could find a way of looping them 1 record at a time I could have a text that said # record of ###,### records, and after each import update the text to change the current record.

This would also allow me to add a stop button which would stop after the current loop. At the moment you can only stop when the entire query has finished.

Linked tables direct into Sage50 are stunningly slow, so appending this table (and others) to SQL will give me major benefits. None of the data needs to be changed, just read and used for reports/dashboards and such.

My database has always been used by 4 or 5 people, but now we are up to 12-15 and more remote users, it is slowing down. I am looking at ways to speed up the Sage50 part.

Or, am I trying something that there is already an easier solution for?

~Matt

Minty

AWF VIP
Local time
I assume you are using the Sage ODBC driver. I'm sure it's been designed to be as slow as possible...

Adding an individual record loop will make the import take a month of Sundays if you have 100k + records.
You may be able to break it down to do say 1000 records at a time, assuming there is some key field you can count?
Then you could get a progress indicator based on that.

MattBaldry

Local time
I assume you are using the Sage ODBC driver. I'm sure it's been designed to be as slow as possible...

Adding an individual record loop will make the import take a month of Sundays if you have 100k + records.