Solved Append Query Key Violation (1 Viewer)

JED25

Local time
Today, 05:11
I'm fairly new to Access and I'm trying to build a client admission DB for my company by condensing an excessive amount of spreadsheets. I have a table where I'm compiling all the data, a linked table to an excel sheet where I manipulate past data, and created an append query. Every time I run the append query I get a key violation error for some of the data. My most recent attempt I tried to add 284 records, but only 84 appended correctly. Why won't it take all my data? I've already check that records are formatted correctly. None of my fields are indexed. The data shows up perfectly when I go to datasheet view. I'm completely at a loss.

Here is the SQL for the append query:

INSERT INTO [INTAKE LOG] ( ADMISSION, [CLT ID], INSURANCE, [LGL-ST], [REF BY], LOC, DISCHARGE, [CLT TYPE] )
SELECT [INTAKE LINK].ADMISSION, [INTAKE LINK].[CLT ID], [INTAKE LINK].INS, [INTAKE LINK].[LGL-ST], [INTAKE LINK].[REF BY], [INTAKE LINK].Loc, [INTAKE LINK].DISCHARGE, [INTAKE LINK].[CLT TYPE]
FROM [INTAKE LINK] LEFT JOIN [INTAKE LOG] ON [INTAKE LINK].ADMISSION = [INTAKE LOG].ADMISSION
WHERE ((([INTAKE LOG].ADMISSION) Is Null));

theDBguy

I’m here to help
Staff member
Local time
Today, 02:11
Hi. Welcome to AWF!

Key violations usually refer to index requirements. It would be hard to tell you what's wrong, if we can't see the actual database file with the problematic data included.

Pat Hartman

Super Moderator
Staff member
Local time
A key violation is pretty specific.

JED25

Local time
I can't really send the DB due to HIPPA violations (I work in a hospital setting). However, I have looked up the indexes and there is nothing indexed.

Gasman

Enthusiastic Amateur
Local time
Today, 10:11
You are not the only one who has this kind of thing
Just replace sensitive data with meaningless text by using update queries.
On a copy of your db as well.