Application Error: Undefined Function 'Right' in Expression (1 Viewer)

jco23

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 07:59
I've been developing apps in MS Access for a few years now, but have not come across this error message.

I took an app that I've been developing for quite some time, made some changes (nothing to the tools/references), performed a compact/repair, and saved the file to the network for a co-worker to review. Upon opening the app (which auto-launches a specific form as normal), they get greeted with the error message above. We reviewed the tools->references as researched, but nothing was "missing".
I believe the issue is stemming from the underlying query which has the 'right' function within it.
However, I did not make any changes to this query/form, and on the prior version of the app, the logic is exactly the same.
Even when they "shift" into the app, and open the form/query, they get the same error message.
The user looked into the VBA and found the 'Right' function defined.
Why would it work in the VBA but not in a query?
Is there some sort of other setting within MS Access that needs to be the same for both users?
It just seems to me that the text functions (right, left, mid, etc.) are standard for MS Access.

thanks!

Ranman256

Local time
This is a false error.
I get it too when a reference is wrong. (Access is confused w that reference)
If a known function gives an error, this is the problem.
The reference is not missing but something is wrong with it.
Sometimes removing it, then adding it back with the correct path helps.

If not reference problem, maybe a declare. Make sure all Declares use PTRSAFE for both OS's.

jco23

Registered User.
Local time
This is a false error.
I get it too when a reference is wrong. (Access is confused w that reference)
If a known function gives an error, this is the problem.
The reference is not missing but something is wrong with it.
Sometimes removing it, then adding it back with the correct path helps.