Autopopulate gets Run Time Error 2448 (1 Viewer)

M Costumes

Local time
Today, 11:08
I have a multi-value sub-form based on an Inventory table where the user selects an InvnetoryID from a cbo box and it autopopulates the appropriate fields (setID and RentalRate). It fills SetID just fine, but will not populate RentalRate with the value from the Inventory table. Inventory.RentalRate is set to currency. This is my VBA:
Code:
Private Sub cboInventoryID_AfterUpdate()
Me.txtSetID.Value = Me.cboInventoryID.Column(2)
Me.txtRentalRate.Value = Me.cboInventoryID.Column(3)
End Sub
When I test it, I get a run-time error 2448 "can't assign value to this object" When I run debug, it points to the last line. I've tried changing that line to
Code:
Me!txtRentalRate.Value = Val(Me!.cboInventoryID.Column(3))
and it did the same thing.

I'm very new to all of this, and have searched here and other forums/google in general and I've not quite found a solution. Any ideas?

Ranman256

Local time
Today, 14:08
NOTE: in vba,columns begin with zero.
So cbo.colums(3) means you have 4 columns. (In the property)
Did u set the combo to have 4 columns?
Or
Did u have 3 columns ,and mean to use cbo.colums(2)

M Costumes

Local time
Yes, there are 4 columns total:

0) record ID (autonumber)
1) InventoryID (text)
2) SetID (text)
3) RentalRate (currency)

the cbo box is bound to col 1

MajP

You've got your good things, and you've got mine.
Local time
2448 "can't assign value to this object"
The error is what it says. There is a reason you cannot assign a value to txtRentalRate. The most common reason is that it is a calculated control.

M Costumes

Local time
The error is what it says. There is a reason you cannot assign a value to txtRentalRate. The most common reason is that it is a calculated control.
Not a calculation in this case.

MajP

Local time
What is the control source of txtRentalRate? What is the datatype of the control source?

M Costumes

Local time