Bound database fields (1 Viewer)

seb1972

Local time
Today, 09:08
I am a sql programmer but am trying to figure out an access form (.accdb). There are several forms (tabs) and I want to know how the data from the SQL database is being displayed. Do I look at design view or layout view? Is there some link in the properties sheet that I am missing? I have looked in the navigation, on and all over the form and for the life of me I can not find any useful information. I think some of the data is in stored procedures but I would like to physically see how it is working.

Thanks for the help!
SEB

theDBguy

I’m here to help
Staff member
Local time
Today, 07:08
Hi. Welcome to AWF!

If you view the Form in Design View, what do you see in the Record Source property?

plog

Banishment Pending
Local time
Brief Access overview and glossary--In the Access world, forms and tabs are unique entities. Forms are one of 6 Access objects (tables, queries, forms, reports, macros, modules); a tab can be part of a form. You would add a tab control to a form and then could have as many tabs on that tab control as you wanted. Further, tabs often contain sub-forms. Those subforms are Form objects themselves, just placed on another form. Every form can have its own Record Source (or none at all--unbound). So, when you open a form the form itself can have a Record Source and then each subform on it can have its own Record Source.

Now, to view the datasource of a form--open it in design view, right click anywhere on the form, then click on Form Properties in the pop up menu and go to the Data tab in the Property Sheet menu that appears. The topmost value is Record Source and it list what data is feeding the form. That can be the name of a table or query or the SQL of a query.

seb1972

Local time
Thanks for the reply. Record Source on the data tab is null. This form does have tabs...