Cannot export query to text file (CSV) (1 Viewer)

Local time
Today, 02:47
Hi all,

I have a query that I can run and show in datasheet view.

If I try to export the file to a text file manually (using the ribbon) I get an error: "Too few parameters. Expected 1" (There are no parameters)
If I try to export the file to text using VBA (DoCmd.TransferText acExportDelim...) I get an error: "Cannot reference a table with a multi-valued field using an IN clause that refers to another database." (I don't believe that i am doing this either)

Because I'm getting different errors I have a feeling something else is going on. It was working but then after some changes it stopped working but I can't figure out which change has broken it.

I'd appreciate any help or clues. I've scoured the net looking and can't see anyone having the same combination of problems!

Thanks

(I've been using Access for 25 years and I'm still learning, mostly because it's not my day-job.)

Ranman256

Local time
Yesterday, 21:47
If your query references a form object, that's a parameter.
If your query has a sub query that may reference a form, it's a param.

Sometimes if you start with an existing query,then modify it,and remove the params,it may remember them. So you must start the query from scratch.

And for CSV export ,you must build a schema definition (as 1 param of the docmd.exportText cmd.)

Gasman

Enthusiastic Amateur
Local time
Of course, you couldn't post the actual query? :(

Within code tags as well would be nice? (See my signature) :)

The_Doc_Man

Immoderate Moderator
Staff member
Local time
Yesterday, 20:47
OK, let's break down the common causes of what you saw.

When a query asks for a parameter, the number-one cause of that is that you spelled something incorrectly. The message is telling you that it cannot find what you told it to find.