Comparing Two Tables (1 Viewer)

Satin

Local time
Today, 07:39
Good Morning,
I am very new to Access. I currently do most of my work in Excel and am trying to switch over to Access as some of my data is too big for Excel. One of the things I do weekly is a review of people (compare two reports to see if they match). I do this in excel with lots of manipulations of the data and formulas. I understand this process but teaching it is not always easy and the new user who typically is a novice in Excel, gets overwhelmed and reverts back to printing the reports and highlighting the matches (time consuming, too much human error and waste of paper).

Anyways my Question(s) are:
See below an example of the data One report show Jane Doe with 2 units and the second report shows her with three. Also Mike Runner is on one report and not the other. I understand I can run a unmatch query in the query wizard and that would bring back Mike Runner. I also need to know there is an extra Jane doe. How do you suppose I go about this?

Things needed:
Are there any missing person(s) in any of the reports
If Yes which report
Does the number of persons match in each report
If No which report has too many

Report One Report Two
John Smith 1 Bedroom Ownership type John Smith 1 Bedroom Ownership type
Jane Doe 1 Bedroom Ownership type Jane Doe 1 Bedroom Ownership Type
Jane Doe 1 Bedroom Ownership Type Jane Doe 1 Bedroom Ownership Type
Jane Doe 1 Bedroom Ownership Type
Mike Runner 1 Bedroom Ownership type

The thing is this data doesn't need to be saved once it is done. Each week it is new data. can this be done and is it more difficult to do in Access than in Excel do you think?

I appreciate any thoughts on this.

Thank you, Satin
Report 1Report 2
Doe, Jane1 BROwnership TypeSmith, John1 BROwnership Type
Doe, Jane1 BROwnership typeDoe, Jane1 BROwnership Type
Smith, John1 BROwnership TypeDoe, Jane1 BROwnership Type
Doe, Jane1 BR

Last edited:

theDBguy

I’m here to help
Staff member
Local time