Conditions in selection query (1 Viewer)

Jacino

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 20:03
Hi every body,

I am new in this discussion form.
In fact, I have the following problem:
I have a selection query of three tables, in which I select the data with certain conditions. It is imperatif that a filed of one of the tables be equal to another one (under certain conditions!).

At the criteria line of this field I have generated the tha following condition:

Iif(RSKS97!NPO3>0 , RSKS97!NPO3,
Iif(RSKS97!NPO2>0 , RSKS97!NPO2,
Iif(RSKS97!NPO1>0 , RSKS97!NPO1,
Iif(RSKS02!NPOR>0 ,[RSKS02!NPOR,))))

That means, it checks three fields in the second table. If they are zeros, then it will be equal to a field in the third table.

But unfortuntly, it doesn't work. An error message indicates that the syntax of the expression is not correct.
Have you any suggestion. It would be really appreicitated.

David R

I know a few things...
Local time
Today, 14:03
At the risk of being obvious, you have a stray [ and a stray , near the end of your example. Was that a typo here or is that in your query as well?

Although your field names aren't very descriptive, I would say your data is probably not normalized. Anytime sequences of numbers become part of your field names (NP01, NP02, etc), you are probably using repeating groups, which violates First Normal Form. Look up "database normalization" and see if that helps.

[This message has been edited by David R (edited 05-30-2002).]

Jacino

Registered User.
Local time
I am very sorry, this is the correction:

Iif(RSKS97.NPCO3>0 , RSKS97.NPCO3,
Iif(RSKS97.NPCO2>0 ,RSKS97.NPCO2,
Iif(RSKS97.NPCO1>0 ,RSKS97.NPCO1,
Iif(RSKS02.NPCOR>0 ,RSKS02.NPCOR,0)))))

No problem for the normalization. As a matter of fact I needed to list in one query certain records which meet the requirements.
Could you go furthur please in helping me finding the solution. Thanks alot.

David R

I know a few things...
Local time