Solved Controlling total amount billed and total record count based on checkbox selection (1 Viewer)

abette

Local time
Yesterday, 23:25
Hi, I have a form with a Check box control called Attest. When the user marks the checkbox I would like the Attested Amount Billed to increment based on the Amount Billed value for the record/row. In addition, I would like the Attested Recs to count the number of marked checkboxes. How can this be done? I am not a VBA coder so I appreciate any help you can give me. Thank you. Ann Marie
1624394047602.png

Pat Hartman

Super Moderator
Staff member
Local time
I'm not sure I understand what you are trying to do but I do know that it is not auditable. I suggest rethinking the process and instead of using a checkbox to update a record, think about a process that inserts a new record in a child table. That way you can see who added records, when they were added, and the individual amount. To get the total, you would use a query that sums the details.

The concept is similar to the two ways to maintain inventory. The novice thinks that there should be one record per item and you plus or minus the value. The expert creates transactions that are used to add/subtract from the quantity and the transactions are summarized to produce the quantity on hand.

abette

Local time
I put together this VBA module that I am attaching to the AfterUpdate event property of the Attest checkbox control. Obviously, it's not going to work bc I am not good with VBA but it at least has the pseudo code that I am looking to program!
Private Sub AttestationCheck_AfterUpdate()
Dim AttestedAmountBilled As Integer
'Checked
If AttestationCheck.Value = -1 Then
AttestedAmountBilled.Value + AmountBilled.Value And AttestedRecs.Value + 1
DoCmd.RunMacro "mcrAttestCheckboxControlProcess"
End If
'Unchecked
If AttestationCheck.Value = 0 Then AttestedAmountBilled.Value - AmountBilled.Value And AttestedRecs.Value - 1
End Sub

abette

Local time