Create a New SQL Server Instance (1 Viewer)

MattBaldry

Self Taught, Learn from the Forums
Local time
Today, 08:26
Hi all,

I am looking to move some of my larger tables onto SQL server, but I have been unable to find details on how to create a new server. Our Domain controller has 2 SQL Servers registered at the moment, but I wanted to create my own one instead of a new database inside one of these.

I have scoured the web and cannot find a good guide on how to do this. Does anyone have a link they could reference please?

~Matt

Pat Hartman

Super Moderator
Staff member
Local time
Today, 03:26
If you want a new instance, you need to install it. Is your IT department going to allow you to install your own personal instance of SQL Server on their server? I doubt it.

If you want to install SQL Server Express on YOUR PC, you can probably get away with it.

MattBaldry

Local time
If you want a new instance, you need to install it. Is your IT department going to allow you to install your own personal instance of SQL Server on their server? I doubt it.

If you want to install SQL Server Express on YOUR PC, you can probably get away with it.
Thanks Pat,

I have actually managed to get it sorted, but would prefer to create my tables in access the "upsize" them.

I know MS Access no longer has this as an option, but is there another tool that will do this for me?

If I have to create them in SQL, I will, but as the tables are all already in access, an upsize tool would be easier.

~Matt

MattBaldry

Local time
Use SSMA to convert the tables.
Thanks Pat,

I installed that just as your reply came through. Jet lag from my holiday slowed my brain today and I couldn't find it when I looked earlier.

~Matt

Pat Hartman

Super Moderator
Staff member
Local time
Today, 03:26