Create my own website with db back-end... suggestions appreciated. (1 Viewer)

Jibbadiah

James
Local time
Today, 14:13
Hi folks,

I have a bit of experience using a combination of vb, sql, unix scripting, access, dos etc. As well as very basic use of HTML and some static webpage design through Dreamweaver. I am considering an attempt at creating my own dynamic website with a MySQL db behind it, and I will need the website to interact with the db as well as linux scripts (file manipulation). My comfort-zone is databases, and beyond that I am a novice. I have a spare pc and have installed Fedora Core. I have installed MySQL and connected thru ODBC to a linux equivalent of Access... so I think that I shouldn't have too many problems creating all that I need on the database-side. At about this stage I could do with hearing the basics... I have a copy of Dreamweaver MX and was considering an attempt at linking some webpages with PHP scripting. Am I on the right track? Is there an easy way of doing this? I think that I need Apache webserver installed... is this easy enough to do? Does it need to have it's own partition or anything weird like that?! Can I create a temporary website to view on my network (thru a router) before launching into the outside world? Is there anything special that I might need to know? What is the order of the steps involved? Can anyone offer any insight into how they have created their websites and what their first steps were?

Cheers for any feedback - sorry for the novice questions :confused:

James

Jibbadiah

James
Local time
Just bringing this back into view.. posted just as new posts were being cleared down.

Banana

split with a cherry atop.
Local time
Yesterday, 21:13
30 minutes of bumping is considered rude. Better to wait a day or so.