Created a Query but got duplicate Results (1 Viewer)

jrsaturnino

Local time
Tomorrow, 04:19
Good morning smart people!

I hope one of you can help my current issues that i am facing with MS Access.
The situation is i made separate tables for Customers, Sales and Collection. Then when i created a query from those tables i got duplicated results. I was expecting by obtaining the information from those tables will give me the following:

1. Sales table will match payments from collection table using the reference number.

2. No duplicates

3. Customers, Sales and Collection Tables will merge into one report on a query.

Hope you can help me with this. I am not a programmer just a newbie in MS Access. Still Learning!.

Thanks,

Bert

June7

AWF VIP
Local time
Today, 13:19
Customers has 1-to-many relationship with both Sales and Collections? Yes, you will get duplication if you include all 3 tables in query.

arnelgp

..forever waiting... waiting for jellybean!
Local time
Tomorrow, 05:19
there will always be duplicate.
there can be multiple partial payment for each sale.

Pat Hartman

Super Moderator
Staff member
Local time
Today, 17:19
While Sales and Collections each have a relationship with Customer, they don't appear (in your application) to have a relationship with each other. Look at this silly example to see what happens. We have students, classes, and pets. Classes and pets are both related to students but not to each other (unless the pets take certain classes)

Joe, Englisn, Spot
Joe, English, Blinky
Joe, Math, Spot
Joe, Math, Blinky

In your case, it is logical for the three tables to have a hierarchical relationship. And that would NOT cause duplication. So:

Customer -->> Sales -->> Collections

In this schema, collections are related to specific sales. A slightly different interpretation would include a m-m relationship which may be what you want to model your work flow:

Customer -->> Sales -->> SalesCollectioned <<-- Collections