Data entry at point of manufacture. (1 Viewer)

HillTJ

To train a dog, first know more than the dog..
Local time
Yesterday, 21:39
People, i'm in need of direction that may not point to access as the best option. I work in manufacturing (i think that occupation is nearly dead). We currently capture quality measurements manually on a form. I them copy the data into a bunch of excel spreadsheets. It's taking a lot of my time now as we're capturing more data, have less staff etc etc. Seems to me that it is silly to hand write data, then manually enter later. I wish to have some method of operators entering data directly. We have wifi in the factory, but it would be difficult (read company won't spend the money) to get a LAN cable out to the factory. My boss is excel mad ever since i showed him how to make a data entry form, and loves his own work. It's pretty crap really from a logical point of view and he's made no provision for backups, logons etc and all the stuff that makes a proper application.

Now, i've written several applications that work really well, but don't have the experience to recommend or develop a sensible solution for this application, nor am i conversant with other options . Our IT people are unwilling or not understanding what i need, so no assistance there.

What should i do?

jdraw

Super Moderator
Staff member
Local time
Today, 04:39
Seems the boss is blindly making/not making (read that as ignoring) any sort of data management discipline. Without backups, organized logons etc it's a problem (potential disaster) waiting to happen. As you know it's when, not if. This is probably a major reason for the decline/demise of manufacturing.