Database Help Needed Please (1 Viewer)

DGagnon819

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 04:30
Dear Experts,
I am a Access rookie. While browsing these forums I've noticed that the people here seem to be very knowlegable about database design and normalization. I'm writing because I need expert instruction on a database I'm working on.

I've posted a couple times concerning my issue but so far I've not been able to solve my problem. You see, my database is to be used to track employee training events. It should be able to record events which pertain to every employee and also events which pertain to individual job specialties. This is so I can produce reports which show all events which are mandatory or are specialty related whether the employee has completed them or not.

I one time I believed I had the foundation but now I'm uncertain. To produce the report I mentioned above, I've tried every SQL join I know of without success. This had led me to question my relationships and the tables themselves. It doesn't seem like this should be hard to solve but it has beaten me so far.

The Tables are as follows:

TrainingEventFrequency
FreqCode (PK)
CodeDescription
Days

TrainingEventInfo
TrainingEventName (PK)
FreqCode
EventCode

CompletedTrainingRecord (Don't know what to make PK)
TrainingEventName
DateCompleted
ClockNumber
EventCode

EmployeeInfo
ClockNumber (PK)
FirstName
MiddleInit
LastName
JobCode
JobTitle
PositionCode
PositionTitle
DepartmentID
SectionName
WorkPhone
EMailAddress
DepartmentManager
SubContractor
ProjectMandatoryCode

JobCodes
JobCode (PK)

Department
DepartmentID (PK)

When a employee is entered into the database, a default value is entered into the ProjectMandatoryCode field. I was hoping to use this to link the Project Mandatory events to all employees. Using the Job Code, I need to link events specific to their specialty.