Disable export (1 Viewer)

R

RdJ

Does anyone know a way to prevent tables from getting exported to e.g. excel (so imported in excel).

I know you can prevent this with a database password, but that's not what I want.

Thanks in advance.

Rob

The_Doc_Man

Immoderate Moderator
Staff member
Local time
Today, 02:23
Well...

If you are being selective about it, no.

If you don't ever want anyone (including yourself) to ever be able to do this, reinstall Access with the custom install option and don't include the wizards that support Excel operations.

But this will prevent YOU from using Excel yourself.

You could also try to customize your Access toolbar that is shown for your users and remove the "Analyze it with Excel" option. I'm not an expert in that, but you could perhaps search the forum for the topic of toolbar customization - or read Access Help on that topic.

DrJ

Local time
Today, 00:23
I know how to disable everything in access, but when I'm in excel and try to import data from my database, that is possible. So I want to disable importing.

Sorry if I was not clear enough.

Rob

maxmangion

AWF VIP
Local time
Today, 08:23
in my opinion any precautions you'll be doing to disable this feature, if someone is keen on importing the data to excel there will always be a workaround!

DrJ

Local time
What if you put the data you don't want get exported/imported in an other database. You could then protect the new database and link it to the original db. That way you still have to enter a password when opening the database.

Does anyone know a way in which you don't link the table, but get data from it with VBA (the password then can be strored in the VBA)?

Rob

Anil M

Local time
Today, 12:53
Seems that there is no procedure/Code to disable import of access data base objects.....
Even ticking of 'show hidden objects' of any database unhides all hidden objects of all databases in a desktop. I am using Access2007.
Any suggestion to prevent this....?

The_Doc_Man