Do these table designs makes sense? Various parts of my schema (1 Viewer)

JMongi

Local time
Today, 07:01
So, I'm at the point of putting some test data into my database structure to make sure that it works as expected and so that I have some data to work with as I start adding subforms to my main navigation form. Since I'm new to creating a properly designed database from scratch, I thought I would toss up a few snippets of my schema and make sure that my approach makes sense. Now is the time to sort this out if there are any lurking issues.

First up are the tables that define the various equipment that needs maintained (this is a maintenance tracking database more or less). The idea is that there are common attributes to all equipment (Unique ID, Type, Date Acquired, etc) and then subgroupings of equipment that have common attributes (vehicle type, make, model, year, etc). As I understand it, if I relate these various tables via 1:1 relationships through EqID as shown below, then while there must be a record in "Equipment" for every EqID, each subgroup should only contain records for their specific types tied to that unique EqID. Is my understanding correct? Do I have this structured correctly to accomplish this?

EqRel.PNG

JMongi

Local time
To clarify my expectations:
Code:
Table 1:EqID, Name, Description, Type
Table 2:EqID, VehMake, VehModel, VehYear
Table 3:EqID, EngineMake, EngineModel, HP

So there could be two records in equipment, one for a car and one for an engine.
There would be 1 record in table 2 for additional car details.
There would be 1 record in table 3 for additional engine details.

plog

Banishment Pending
Local time
Today, 06:01