DoCmd.TransferText (Run-time error '2391') (1 Viewer)

carterlw12

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 09:49
I am searched long and hard trying to find an answer to this and I have not.

- Importing .csv file via form button
- I do not want to edit the source file prior to importing
- Source file does not have headers

I have tried changing the code to include and not include headers and neither works. I get "F1 does not exist in destination table" or whatever the value of A1 in the source file does not exist in destination table.

I am self taught and about a month new to Access so just fyi when providing answers.

Here is my source code:

Code:
Private Sub cmdImport_Click()
Dim FSO As New FileSystemObject
'On Error GoTo BadFormat

If Nz(Me.txtFilepath, "") = "" Then
    MsgBox "No file has been selected. Please select a file."
    Exit Sub
End If

If FSO.FileExists(Nz(Me.txtFilepath, "")) Then

DoCmd.TransferText acImportDelim, , "ADP_tbl", Me.txtFilepath, False

MsgBox "Import Successful!"
txtFilepath.Value = ""
    Exit Sub

'BadFormat:
'MsgBox "The file you tried to import was not a .csv file."

End If

End Sub

June7

AWF VIP
Local time
Today, 06:49
Would be helpful to provide sample file. Attach file to post.

carterlw12

Registered User.
Local time
CSV files can't be uploaded but here is a super basic version in excel format though.

Attachments

• Sample.xlsx
    14.5 KB · Views: 488

June7

AWF VIP
Local time
Pretty sure can upload anything in a Windows Compression zip file.

Converted the Excel to csv. Ran your code (after modifying to not reference form and textbox for file). Import is successful. Repeat import also successful.

carterlw12

Registered User.
Local time
Did you set headers in the table prior to importing though? It imports fine if you don't put headers in the access table. But I need to label headers in the table first and then import.

June7

AWF VIP
Local time