Don't copy duplicates (1 Viewer)

statsman

Local time
Yesterday, 20:04
Using Access 07.
I have a database I have been using for a few years to do our office hockey pool. In a nutshell, each participant may "draft" a team of 10 players from a list of 100 players split up into groups of 10 based on last seasons stats (you may draft 1 player from each group). This results in duplicate selections.

I append the drafted players from the table tblParticipant into the table tblDraft (after deleteing all the previous records in tblDraft). The PlayerName in tblDraft is set to indexed-no duplicates. From tblDraft I update the drafted players from the newspaper which lists the required stats each Tuesday. The settings for PlayerName means I only have to update each player once, rather than updating the same player 5 or 6 times. The tables tblDraft and tblParticipant are then compared in a query to give me the total points each Participant's drafted players have scored and hence the pool standings.

A friend has seen my database and would like to buy a copy. I have a few minor kinks in it that I have to fix before I can sell it. The major one is, when I append the drafted players into tblDraft I get a warning that not all the drafted players will be copied (since the PlayerName field in tblDraft won't accept duplicates). The warning occurs each time there is a duplicate record so I sometimes have to click "Yes" 10 or 12 times. Can I turn this warning off, or is there another way to do this so that I don't get a warning.

I did a search earlier and tried appending the records from tblDraft to another table with the no duplicate setting, but I still got the warning. Mind you I only got is once using this procedure.

vbaInet

AWF VIP
Local time
Today, 01:04
I thought you said they were minor kinks but it seems to be a major one ;)