Double-Click Event of Datasheet Line and WithEvents (1 Viewer)

GK in the UK

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 09:39
On my invoice/order form I have a sub form with a function ViewTransaction to open a pop-up form for that datasheet line.

On the double-click event of every field in the datasheet I have: =ViewTransaction
So double-clicking anywhere on the line opens the pop-up.

On the host form I also have a button View Line Detail which opens the same pop-up, so I have duplicated code which I want to consolidate to the main form.

I was about to set up a WithEvents on the double-click event and deal with it all in once place, but it occurred to me I have 8 fields on the sub form datasheet.

Must I set up a WithEvents for each field on the datasheet or is there an easier way ?

theDBguy

I’m here to help
Staff member
Local time
Today, 02:39
Hi. I'm no expert on this subject; but if you're using a Datasheet (not a Continuous Form), then I don't know any way around having to "wire" each Control with a DblClick event. If you can have the user double-click on the record selector, rather than on any field, then you can get away with just setting it up in one place. Otherwise, when using a Continuous Form, you can overlay a transparent button on top of the record (unless, of course, you still need to edit each field). Just my 2 cents...

Micron

AWF VIP
Local time
Today, 05:39