Duplicate Values in Append Query from Raw Data table (1 Viewer)

JJ22

Local time
Yesterday, 17:44
Hi all!

I am relatively new to database design so I tried to be as descriptive as possible. I designed a data extraction from medical record systems to collect the data for a chart review project and the raw data is stored in excel.
I have five separate excel spread sheets, a patient list, a patient visit data sheet with each individual's visits to the clinic recorded as one record (row), a medication list with each patient having an individual record per medication, a problem list structured similar to the medication list, and then finally a lab test and result, again similar.

My Problem: I'm stuck importing the visit data’s vital results into a table with append queries.

A) My Process thus far (See attachment: Relationship.png)

1) I have used the original excel Patient PER visit data sheet and imported it into access as "RawPatientVisitData." This is my raw data table.

2) I used an append query to build a PatientList table that contains only distinct patients from the RawPatientVisitData. I selected only distinct rows from the raw data and left any data regarding to the visit itself alone. The patientlist table is just data that won't change with visits and thus excluded data collected during the visit itself (Vitals, or tests for example).

3) Since each patient can also have multiple visits, I have built a PatientVisit table. I included the SQL (I didn't use it to build - I used design view).
INSERT INTO PatientVisits ( PatientID, VisitDate, StaffID )
SELECT PatientList.PatientID, RawPatientVisitData.VisitDate, RawPatientVisitData.StaffID
FROM RawPatientVisitData INNER JOIN PatientList ON RawPatientVisitData.PID = PatientList.PID;