Edited Reports in Backend;Won't reflect in Front End (1 Viewer)

AccessNewbie1992

Local time
Today, 13:42
Hi,

I am currently using a Database that was leveraged from a colleague at another location and I am making it fit for my location. I have little Access experience so bare with me!

The database is slip into 2 files frontend and backend. In the backend file, I've made a few changes to the reports and a couple tables in Design View (Colors, terminology, etc) but when I open up the front end.. it doesn't reflect this change.

How can I update the Frontend to reflect the backend?

Thanks!!!!!

Last edited:

theDBguy

I’m here to help
Staff member
Local time
Today, 11:42
Hi. Welcome to AWF!

A properly split database would only have tables in the backend. All user forms should be in the frontend. So, when you need to update a form, you would do it in the master copy of the frontend and then distribute the user copies from it. Changes to the table structure are done in the backend; and to see them in the front end, you may have to refresh the links to those tables.

AccessNewbie1992

Local time
Hi. Welcome to AWF!

A properly split database would only have tables in the backend. All user forms should be in the frontend. So, when you need to update a form, you would do it in the master copy of the frontend and then distribute the user copies from it. Changes to the table structure are done in the backend; and to see them in the front end, you may have to refresh the links to those tables.

I'm sorry, let me rephase I did not update forms... just reports. --- Thank you!! How would I do that? I tried updating by going into my backend file, link table manager, and refresh, and nothing has changed!

theDBguy

I’m here to help
Staff member
Local time
Thank you!! How would I do that? I tried updating by going into my backend file, link table manager, and refresh, and nothing has changed!