Error: Unrecognized Database (1 Viewer)

evictme

Registered User.
Local time
Yesterday, 21:47
Joined
May 18, 2011
Messages
166
I believe I figured out the culprit. Me (My computer). Im running a Windows 11 Pro Pre-release build. I think recreating databases (FE/BE) on my computer and then distributing them for users (All on Windows 10 Pro) was causing the issue. Today I recreated both database files on a windows 10 Pro PC and distributed. I am hoping this will mitigate the issue. I believe it will but Ill keep you all posted.

I have since changed my distribution method to the batch file example from an earlier post by @Pat Hartman (Thank you!). I used 2 .bat files, one that runs the main .bat file from example but minimized so the users do not see any of the hotdog being made (they are easily spooked).

I am going to avoid running any of the database on my PC for now.

Thank you all for your help and insight, I will keep you posted.

Best,

- E
 

evictme

Registered User.
Local time
Yesterday, 21:47
Joined
May 18, 2011
Messages
166
Sometimes helps that method :
01. Rename the corrupted database
02. Create a new (empty) database with the name of the old one
03. Import all objects from the old database to the new one
04. Check that everything has been imported and the relationships between tables are correct
Did all that, various times but on my Windows 11 Pro eval copy PC. I have now done this on a Windows 10 Pro PC. We'll see where this leads
 

Eugene-LS

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 05:47
Joined
Dec 7, 2018
Messages
354
I have now done this on a Windows 10 Pro PC.
I think that OS has nothing to do with it ...
If, for example, your network is "sparking" - there is nothing you can do - except change the network cable
 

Pat Hartman

Super Moderator
Staff member
Local time
Yesterday, 22:47
Joined
Feb 19, 2002
Messages
36,961
Dave, I know you can build/update an .mdb/.mde with newer versions of Access. I was talking about the .mdw.
 

gemma-the-husky

Super Moderator
Staff member
Local time
Today, 03:47
Joined
Sep 12, 2006
Messages
14,936
@Pat Hartman

Ah. I see. It was this comment. But I take it you mean that as the OP does use an .accdb, he therefore has to keep converting backwards and forwards to use the .mdw?

But without an interface to add/change the user's security, how can it be useful? Wouldn't you always have to work in the mdb and then convert to the .accdb to make FE changes?
 

evictme

Registered User.
Local time
Yesterday, 21:47
Joined
May 18, 2011
Messages
166
@Pat Hartman

Ah. I see. It was this comment. But I take it you mean that as the OP does use an .accdb, he therefore has to keep converting backwards and forwards to use the .mdw?

Yes. If I need to add a new person to the mdw (security file), I convert the BE to mdb. Run the security wizard to completion. convert back to .accdb and done. However, up until today our BE file has been mdb so the conversion was not necessary. But can confirm that that works.
 

evictme

Registered User.
Local time
Yesterday, 21:47
Joined
May 18, 2011
Messages
166
UPDATE:

Since running the database and all the fresh copies from a Windows 10 Pro PC the only thing that has changed is that now, corruption continues to happen but does not give an error.

We do not see a "Unrecognized db or mdb file..." error. 2 of our key tables, tables we use the most (around 70K records) are causing corruption when users input. It seems to build up a ton of errors and then some of our database features just stop and when I go to check the backend and those 2 tables have corrupted records (mostly new or recently input), they have lost primary keys, and will show records but with #### symbols where the notes (long text fields) are.

Most entries are fine but then a bunch are not.

After renaming the notes table, I copy the design to a NEW table with the Name of that notes table (the old name), and Append from the OLD table to the new.

This seems to help a while but then we start getting corruption again.

Somethings you should know: I have 2 audit tracking tables and most of the time when something is edited or a new note is inputed, it will also update the audit table and send a record to another table indicating something new was entered but not the value/content.

Its driving me nuts because I have to shutdown users midday and in most cases we lost what they just inputted. Literally the 3rd time they will input the same thing we've lost in the past couple of days.

Another question:
Should I be using mdb for both FE and BE would this be the situation with the notes and creating notes values/records? Would mdb/accdb make a diffrence when it comes to Long Text (Rich Text) fields?

Why does this keep happening?

Thanks all.
 

gemma-the-husky

Super Moderator
Staff member
Local time
Today, 03:47
Joined
Sep 12, 2006
Messages
14,936
I don't know the technical answers. I think if you had things in the accdb that the mdb can't use you would not be able to create the mdb.

I know the html tags that give the special formatting in an accdb just get treated as plain text in an mdb.
Do you have mvfs? I could see those being legal in an mdb, and maybe causing issues.

I think my inclination would be to go to all accdb, but then you would have to code your own security features.. You could go to all mdb, but you would lose your rich texr fields.

Are all your users wired? Wireless connections can be a cause of corruption.
 

isladogs

CID VIP
Local time
Today, 03:47
Joined
Jan 14, 2017
Messages
16,426
ACCDB files are more likely to be resilient for example with memo/long text fields.
These often used to cause corruption in the MDB files created in older versions of Access such as 2003.

I haven't read the entire thread but has anyone suggested decompiling your project? If not, I would certainly suggest it.
 

Eugene-LS

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 05:47
Joined
Dec 7, 2018
Messages
354
for example with memo/long text fields.
You are close to the truth!
I have similar observations ...

Unfortunately, I don't have a clear answer yet.
MS kips silence to any questions, like a "Partisan in Gestapo", - "We are working with it" - they answers ...
 

SHANEMAC51

Active member
Local time
Today, 05:47
Joined
Jan 28, 2022
Messages
294
Would mdb/accdb make a diffrence when it comes to Long Text (Rich Text) fields?
I try not to have long fields (after all, this is an additional hidden table)

instead of using a MEMO field, I use a subordinate table with fields, maybe MEMO, but short enough that the active time of working with this paragraph would be relatively small
 

SHANEMAC51

Active member
Local time
Today, 05:47
Joined
Jan 28, 2022
Messages
294
Did all that, various times but on my Windows 11 Pro eval copy PC. I have now done this on a Windows 10 Pro PC. We'll see where this leads
I have seen the length of the entered text from 5000 to 11000 characters, with many adjustments

maybe the user entered this text all day and corrected it for several days, and the font is very small, almost unreadable

a subordinate table with fields of 255 characters and a larger font would be very useful
 

Cherylodge

New member
Local time
Today, 08:17
Joined
Mar 10, 2022
Messages
20
Hey all,

It has been a while. Here is my current issue:

I have a split database - Frontend and Backend. I also have a security file for the backend.
Front-end is .accdb
Backend is .mdb
and security is mdw

I have about 10-15 users, not including myself. Both, the backend and frontend files live on a share drive. Its a Qnap NAS with a Raid1 using 3 SSD drives for about 1TB of data.

I've set up a folder for each user with their own copy of the front-end file, each of which are linked to the 1 backend file. I've done it this way so it is easier to update all the user Front-ends without having to go to the individual PCs. So, when a user logs in they do so thru a shortcut on their desktop that opens MS access and their respective front-end file from the sharedrive.

Lately, we have been getting corruption on the back-end file. Users will report database disconnection and I will see the error - 3343 - Unrecognized database format '\\eaa-database\Share\BE\EAA-Backend.mdb'.

When this happens it also brings with it a few issues with our tables;

1. Some records become corrupted and display "####" instead of any values
2. Some of our key Tables will lose their Primary Key, sometimes.
3. having everyone disconnect from the backend file, I open the backend file in exclusive mode and sometimes it will say file needs to be repaired and sometimes it will just open the file.

I know that some of this relates to known MS access bugs - like the Autonumber bug, among others...

But it is happening so often, Im not sure where to even look anymore or what else I can do to mitigate the situation.

Our backend File is only about 120 mb and our front-end just a little more at about 180 mbs, so file sizes are not even close to MS Access limits.

We were working fine for years with this set up and now I have to rebuild/reconfigure the backend file almost everyday. Sometimes I repair and clean up the same file and sometimes I create a new file from scratch and import the tables from the old file.

Is there an issue with MS Access im not aware of? What can I do?

Any suggestions or leads i can look into?
This runtime error occurs when the database is corrupted, then it will throw such type of unrecognized database format error.

Reasons for this Error:
  1. Opening the latest version of the Access database file into some older version database.
  2. The access Database file is somehow were corrupted.
  3. Maybe Microsoft Office is not updated with the latest version
  4. Due to any kind of Hardware or Software issue
Solution of this Error:

You can import Corrupted Database into New Database
  1. Open your MS Access application and create a new database file. Click on create an option to create a new file in the right side section of the panel.
  2. In the new database file, click on the External Tab option from the above ribbon.
  3. Click on the Access option, by pressing this option you can easily import your Access database.
  4. This will open up a new window named Get External Data – Access Database.
  5. Now, Click on the browse button and make the selection of your corrupt/damaged Access database file to import.
  6. Browse and choose the access database file in the File Open dialog box. Tap to the Open option to confirm your selection.
  7. After then, hit the OK for further continuation of the process.
  8. Select for the objects in Import Objects dialog box and again press the OK option.
  9. Complete your selected objects to be imported successfully. Press the save import steps box and hit the close.

Thanks,

Cheryl
 

Cherylodge

New member
Local time
Today, 08:17
Joined
Mar 10, 2022
Messages
20
There is a known issue with a Windows Update that is associated with this problem. This error refers to database corruption, And the reasons for the database corruption are:

  • System Virus
  • Sudden shutdown of the system
  • Abruptly cancellation of MS Access file
  • Software Malfunction
  • Improper Data Synchronization
Workarounds you can follow to solve this error:

Workaround 1: Go back to the previous version of MS Office

Steps to follow:

  1. Open the database, and in case it is shared, the user needs to affirm that it is unopened.
  2. Click on the ‘Tools’ menu. Point to the best database utilities.
  3. Click ‘Convert Database’ and then press ‘To Access version File Format.’
  4. Now, type the file name in the ‘File Name box’ of the ‘Convert Database.’ Click ‘Save.’
Workaround 2: Repair the database from the “Compact and Repair” Method i.e inbuilt method of MS office to repair database.

Steps to follow:

  1. First, close the database
  2. And then the Backup database
  3. Click on the ‘Tools’ menu and point to the database utilities. Click the ‘Compact and Repair Database.’
  4. Specify a file name. Click the ‘Compact’ option from the database so that the user may compact in the dialog box.
  5. In the dialog box which is named, ‘Compact Database,’ specify the compacted Access file name as well as the destination. Click ‘Save.’
I hope these workarounds could help you.

Best Regards,
Cheryl
 

Users who are viewing this thread

Top Bottom