Experienced Professionals - Tips for us youngins! (1 Viewer)

BlueIshDan

☠
Local time
Today, 18:36
Hello,

I know there are some highly experienced professionals on this forum.

My questions to you is this. At what point in your life did you see a turn of professionalism and what is it that steered you that way.

What came with this turn. For example a direct career path that set you towards MS Applications or Database Administration.

Did you have peers and tutors that you sort of absorbed professionalism from.

Did you take a course, or read up on different topics as a way to catch up.

What kind of changes in your work, mood and maybe even ethics did you see?

The reason I am asking this is I feel I am in the middle of my transition from a self taught and school graduate to an industry worker and Hopefully some day a professional like you.

Growing up, I didn't exactly live in a sophisticated nor educated fish bowl so to say. So I don't have a lot of guidance in this area.

Simply posting your story of how you have ended up into your professional career and maybe answering a few of the above questions would GREATLY help me in knowing what is going on around me! lol Seriously feels like I'm swimming in 50ft storm waves when I'm out in the professional world.

Thanks!
Dan

scott-atkinson

I'm with the Witch.......
Local time
Today, 21:36
Dan,

From my own experiences; I left school aged 17, with only one mediocre qualification under my belt. I got an apprenticeship as a Printer and progressed up the career chain to be a Supervisor working in a big commercial printers in the East End of London.

I was made redundant at the age of 27 after 10 years employment at the printers, and decided to change my career, mainly due to the fact that I didn't want to continue getting my hands dirty.