Exporting Report to PDF blank fields on some computers only (1 Viewer)

IAccess

New member
Local time
Today, 02:05
Joined
Apr 24, 2013
Messages
8
Hi all,

I have a report (Access 2007) with subreports that is being exported to pdf. It all works fine on PC except for on a virtualbox and a laptop. When the user exports the report to pdf, it leaves some subreports blank! If the report is opened in the DB it pulls data as it should and all looks fine.

In the report, the missing data is from 4 subreports in the same top section of the report where a 5th subreport also resides. Subreport 5 is displayed OK. :confused: There is no dynamic formatting nor filtering in the reports.

These two machines had to have the 2007 Microsoft Office Add-in: Microsoft Save as PDF installed for the PDF export to work at all. Both machines are up-to-date on the latest windows updates. The virtual box runs XP while the laptop runs Windows 7.

This is the strangest error I have ever encountered as it only partially fails and it cannot be replicated on a regular PC. Any help is greatly appreciated.

J.D.
 

Estuardo

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 10:05
Joined
May 27, 2003
Messages
134
G' evening J.D.,
Let me ask you something. Can you print your report without problems? install a pdf printer and see if the problem persist. If so the problem is with your add-in.
G'd luck
 

IAccess

New member
Local time
Today, 02:05
Joined
Apr 24, 2013
Messages
8
Thanks Estuardo,

We tried printing it hard copy and it is the same problem. Actually the blank problem is visible in "print preview" but not in "view" and only for this report section. We did manage to get the print preview to work if the sub report is opened by itself but not when it is by itself as a sub report. This suggests some issue with report internal refreshing before print or possibly fonts. We tried changing fonts but that didn't help. Strangely all works perfectly fine on all other computers tested.

:banghead:

J.D.

Naturally it had to be the boss' computer that doesn't work. :(
 

Estuardo

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 10:05
Joined
May 27, 2003
Messages
134
Can you refresh the report's datasource? have you tried open-close-open? The fonts are the less likely because the MS Office suite replace those fonts that does not exist in the host.
All machines have the same OS and same MF Office version?
 

IAccess

New member
Local time
Today, 02:05
Joined
Apr 24, 2013
Messages
8
Still no solution to why this is happening. We tried adding 3 buttons for the same report. Printing & Output doesn't work while Viewing works just fine. :confused:

Methods
Output:
DoCmd.OutputTo acOutputReport, sReportName, acFormatPDF, sFilePath, False

Print:
DoCmd.OpenReport sReportName, acViewNormal

View:
DoCmd.OpenReport sReportName, acViewReport

:banghead:
 

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

Top Bottom