Filter for Inactive Documents (1 Viewer)

glabbe

Local time
Today, 12:19
This is actually a 3 part question. First, I created a search form that returns the correct records based on the criteria in a text box but now want to filter out the "Inactive" ones. I only want to Include Inactive when a checkbox is selected. Second is how do I replace the Machine code shown with the Machine Description from another table. The list was manually typed under the combo box for the time being. And third is how do I get a record count from a list box. I'd like to know how many records were returned. I'm very new to all of this so I have no idea how to pull it off or what more you might need to help me through this. Thanks in advance for your help.

Attachments

• AccessForum1.jpg
    AccessForum1.jpg
    97.6 KB · Views: 93

theDBguy

I’m here to help
Staff member
Local time
Today, 09:19
Hi. For the first question, you could modify your filter criteria to have two conditions, one for the text field and the other for the yes/no field.

Last edited:

glabbe

Local time
Sounds like you understand where I'm going with this, I'm just too ignorant about how to get there. This is my search query. Is this where I add filtering?

Attachments

• AccessForum2.jpg
    AccessForum2.jpg
    59.9 KB · Views: 85

theDBguy

I’m here to help
Staff member
Local time
Sounds like you understand where I'm going with this, I'm just too ignorant about how to get there. This is my search query. Is this where I add filtering?
Hi. Can you post the SQL statement for your query? It looks like you have an OR where condition because you're looking into two different columns. So, if the intent is to show all records (both active and inactive) when the checkbox is not checked and only the inactive ones when it's checked, you could try putting something like this for the criteria row of the Inactive column.

Code:
(True OR Forms!FormName.CheckboxName)