Filtering a series of combo/list boxes when multi-valued (1 Viewer)

eas36

Local time
Today, 18:50
Hi,

I'm new to Access and am having an issue with my cascading, multi-selection list boxes. I started with an Access contacts template and have been making changes to accommodate my needs. I've been working on this for three days now, and after so much googling/trial and error, I'm frustrated because I think the solution will be something obvious for someone who knows what they are doing. The solution may be a complete change to the whole system I've created since I don't know really know anything about the varying capabilities of the program and don't have a systemic understanding of it.

What I want to happen:
  • user selects a single "category" from a combobox
  • a multi-select "region" box/list appears
  • upon selection of one or more "regions", a multi-selection "county" box/list appears and the counties that exist in the selected regions are auto-selected
  • a multi-selection "city" box/list appears and the cities that exist in the auto-selected counties are then auto-selected
  • the "category" box also governs which order the subsequent boxes appear in (ex. If the category = "county government" rather than "regional government", the "county" box/list will appear first and then auto select the appropriate region and cities)

The end goal being that a user can go to the "Contact List" form and sort by Region, County, or City to include all contacts that might be a stakeholder within the specified place. Ex: "South" region yields all "south" regional contacts, all contacts within counties in "South" region and all contacts in cities that are in counties in "South" Region OR Springtown yields all contacts in SpringTown, all contacts in SpringCounty (excluding all other counties), and all contacts in SpringRegion (excluding all other regions).