Floating Forms (1 Viewer)

MattBaldry

Self Taught, Learn from the Forums
Local time
Today, 14:29
1593615312433.png

Above is an image of the quote system I have developed over the years for my company. Is there any advantage to the tabbed format over floating forms?

I am thinking of doing a new design and wondered if there was any real advantage to the tabbed forms I see on all the MS templates.

~Matt

theDBguy

I’m here to help
Staff member
Local time
Today, 06:29
Advantage? Not sure. I think it's a matter of personal preference. The tab display just happens to match most modern UIs (like browsers).

bob fitz

AWF VIP
Local time
View attachment 83179

Above is an image of the quote system I have developed over the years for my company. Is there any advantage to the tabbed format over floating forms?

I am thinking of doing a new design and wondered if there was any real advantage to the tabbed forms I see on all the MS templates.

~Matt
I see no advantage to using tabbed forms, so I don't. I one of my apps, users need to view 2 forms at the same time. I'm not sure how I'd deal with that.

theDBguy

I’m here to help
Staff member
Local time
I see no advantage to using tabbed forms, so I don't. I one of my apps, users need to view 2 forms at the same time. I'm not sure how I'd deal with that.
Hi Bob. Sorry to interject, but I remember that topic. I just had a thought. Maybe, you can display the two forms as subforms in a single form. Just my 2 cents...

bob fitz

AWF VIP
Local time
Hi Bob. Sorry to interject, but I remember that topic. I just had a thought. Maybe, you can display the two forms as subforms in a single form. Just my 2 cents...
Thanks for the suggestion but me and my like minded dinosaur client are happy with the way it is ;)

theDBguy

I’m here to help
Staff member
Local time
Thanks for the suggestion but me and my like minded dinosaur client are happy with the way it is ;)
Of course. I was just reacting to the part where you said: