Forms, Enter and edit data...? (1 Viewer)

Fulcrum

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 20:42
I have a form for entering Asset details into a Table, on this form there is a subform for delivery details relating to the particular asset.... How do I modify the form so I can edit / update a particular assets details.
ideally I would like to be able to switch the form to edit mode and just put in the asset number to bring up all the details aswell as any delivery details in the sub form.
I tried working with the example in the solutions database but got totally lost... Just aswell I dont do this for a living.

Thanks in advance for any help.

The_Doc_Man

Immoderate Moderator
Staff member
Local time
Today, 14:42
In the subform there should be a property that allows you to link fields between the main and sub forms, where the option is something like link parent/child forms.

The idea being that if the detail records are in the subform, you can do things with them as long as the linkage between main and sub is properly handled. Then the only other issue is whether the subform has been designed to allow updating.

If you are having trouble, try this:

Make sure that the main data table and the details table have a rational relationship between them, one (main) to many (details).

Build the main form based on the main data table.

Build the sub form based on the details table.

The sub should clearly be smaller than the main because it will have to fit within the borders of the main.

Now MAKE SURE THE CONTROLS WIZARD IS ENABLED (it is the magic wand on the Form-Design toolbar) and create a subform on your main. Identify the subform you just created. The wizard will ask you if you want to link the sub to the main through a parent-child relationship. To which you will answer a resounding YES. Then just answer the questions about which field in the main corresponds to which field in the sub.

It shouldn't be harder than that.

Fulcrum

Registered User.
Local time