Solved From checkbox from one form to a table not connected with this form (1 Viewer)

knoet

Local time
Today, 13:14
I have a form that fills the table Orders.
But on that same form I have a checkbox, this should fill a yes/no field in the table Products and not in the table Orders,how can I do that?
Thanks in advance.

June7

AWF VIP
Local time
Today, 04:14
Why would you need to check a yes/no field in table Products?

knoet

Local time
The quality control departement wants to have the possibility to set a product on hold in the table Products from within the Orders Form (with is connected with Orders table)

June7

AWF VIP
Local time
Could multiple users conflict with setting Product on/off hold?

Run an UPDATE action sql to change value in other table.

knoet

Local time
No no multiple users,only chief of quality control
Can you give me a bit more explanation about Update SQL,I am a absolute beginner in Access

June7

AWF VIP
Local time
Can use query designer to help construct valid SQL statement. Then VBA can either run that query object or construct SQL statement, something like:

CurrentDb.Execute "UPDATE Products SET checkfield = " & Me.chkHold & " WHERE ID = " & Me.cbxProd

The real trick is figuring out what event to put code into.

knoet

Local time
Thanks, I am a bit confused about Me.chkHold and Me.cbxProd
In the order form I have the checkbox named On_hold, in the Order table there is no Yes/No field
In the Productstable I have a Yes/No field called On hold,there is no checkbox in the products form

June7

AWF VIP
Local time
Replace the field and control names I used with whatever your names are.

You didn't mention a Products form before. How is it relevant?

There is an UNBOUND checkbox control on Orders form?

Pat Hartman

Super Moderator
Staff member
Local time
Today, 08:14