General Overview Newbie Question (1 Viewer)

Rich_B

Access Newbie
Local time
Today, 15:39
Hi all

So I have an invoicing and orders and dispatch system for my manufacturing company which I designed in Excel and it works fine. The problem is that the company has grown to such an extent that I now need multiple users to be inputting data into the database simultaneously which Excel won't allow without overwriting some of the other users' data. In addition I am told that Access is a far more powerful and suitable application for my needs. The downside here is that I have no experience whatsoever with Access with the exception of a few beginner tutorials on YouTube.

My initial impressions of Access so far are that it seems structurally very different from Excel and so am hoping for a few pointers from more experienced users to smooth the path to proficiency.

The structure of my system is as follows:

- The company manufactures a range of bespoke products. Very few of the items are standard stock so compiling a database of standard products is not the way to go here. In my Excel system I have a spreadsheet where the user inputs the bespoke size of the item ordered L x W x H and the material it is to be manufactured in, a formula then calculates the price of each item based on these values. Each order and the items within it are unique.

- Typically there are several different items per order so I need to be able to input multiple records (sometimes up to 300+) for each order. This is easy in Excel as the user keeps populating lower rows on the worksheet but from what I have seen of Access forms it seems only one at a time can be entered and the previous ones are not visible when entering a new one.