Help with making a table (1 Viewer)

MBQ

Local time
Today, 10:13
Hi, I am currently creating a table using checkboxes etc. I am stuck on the expression to use for the following task:

I have 5 checkboxes in each row. I want to create an expression/validation rule to say that if any of these boxes are not checked as completed then the next field checkbox cannot be ticked as "Ready for Submission".

I am new to Microsoft Access so any help would be greatly appreciated, thanks.

Minty

AWF VIP
Local time
Today, 16:13
Generally, this type of design is a hangover from a spreadsheet design, and invariably leads to lots of issues when used in a database.

Can you explain (in plain English) the purpose of the table and maybe post a picture of its design, or list the fields?

Oh - And welcome to AWF!

MBQ

Local time
Today, 10:13
Thanks!

Basically I have a list of checks (eg. correct paperwork etc.) that need to be completed before a job is ready to be submitted for payment. At the moment I have the 5 "checks" that need to be completed in 5 fields & with checkboxes. I then have another field that is entitled "Ready for Submission". I want this field to say automatically say Yes when all of the 5 checks have been completed & No when at least one checkbox is not ticked.
1606242489115.png

Minty

AWF VIP
Local time
Today, 16:13
Okay - It's not the ideal way to handle this, however, what is wrong is your Ready for Submission field.

First things first, please, please remove all the spaces from your field names, you will end up typing a whole heap of square bracket around everything you do. Don't use special characters anywhere either. CamelCase is your friend and if necessary an underscore.

Secondly, you can calculate if all those items are checked off so don't store the answer.