Help with VBA code to validate form controls (1 Viewer)

abette

Local time
Today, 17:50
Hi,
I have a form control that I would like to validate to see if the value entered by the user exists on a SQL table. I tried using a macro but it's not working and I know it's probably better to do using VBA - something I am not good at! I can code basic routines but nothing crazy.
1622563815887.png

1. I have a Form and need to validate if the Member ID entered by the user exists on a Member table. If it doesn't exist, I would like to display an error message. The table name is dbo_tdMember and resides on a SQL Server

2. Next, If the user enters an Authorization Number I need to validate the following
  • Does the Authorization Number belong to the Member ID? (dbo_tdMember table MEMBERID and dbo_Authorization MemberID)
  • Does the Authorization Number exist on the Auth Table?
  • Does the Authorization Date fall within the Date of Service From and Date of Service Start dates?
The Authorization data is on dbo_Authorization and the fields referenced are AuthNum, authStart and authEnd

I appreciate any help you may provide since I am really an amateur with VBA.
Thank you,
Ann Marie

theDBguy

I’m here to help
Staff member
Local time
Today, 14:50
Hi Ann Marie,

We could try taking small steps...

In the BeforeUpdate event of the Member ID, you could try something like:

Code:
If DCount("*", "dbo_tdMember", "[Member ID]=" & Nz(Me.[Member ID],0))>0 Then
    MsgBox "Member ID exists!"
Else
    MsgBox "New member."
End If
I was assuming the name of the field is [Member ID] (with a space) and that it's of a Number data type.

Hope that helps...

abette

Local time
Hi Ann Marie,

Code:
Else
    MsgBox "New member."
End If
I was assuming the name of the field is [Member ID] (with a space) and that it's of a Number data type.

Hope that helps...
Hi there ,
Thank you for your quick reply.
The field is actually spelled MEMBERID on the table and yes, it's a number field. :)