How does Access handle the updates on my Forms? (1 Viewer)

JMongi

Local time
Today, 13:25
Does anyone have some nice breakdown on how Access handles/passes data between the form/query/tables? I've picked up a bit from reading different threads, etc. But, I would like to make sure I understand how data is moved/udpated so that I can better control it through my program.

Let me use an example. I have a "Master Project List" Form. It's a continuous form with an unbound label as a title and some column headers in the form header and my fields I want to list continuously in the detail section of the continuous form. It's a form list of the projects. Thus the title. Basic stuff.

In each row is a transparent button to call a child form that is a project specific form titled "Project Hours". It needs the ProjID to pull the right hour records. This form is a based on a custom query that pulls fields from various tables in conjunction with the main records that contain my hours. It is a continuous form as well so I can display all of the appropriate tracked hours. So far so good. Within THAT form is going to be a way to launch ANOTHER form that will be used to add another hour entry to the list. I don't think this idea is that foreign to many DB applications.

So, I want to implement a save button on this hour entry form. But to construct this save button appropriately I need to understand when Access wants to write data, how that flows through the forms and how a "cancel" button might be involved. I don't really want to do this via an unbound form so that's why I need a better understanding of how the data flows through access. Tied to that is the idea of an "X" button on these hour entry fields to delete an entry and a way to make one or more hour entries temporarily editable.