How should I go ahead with my learnings (1 Viewer)

SachAccess

Local time
Today, 16:19
Hi,

I am completely new to Access. I have experience of working in Excel VBA.
I have very basic understanding of MS Access objects, like am aware that there are queries, tables, forms, report etc.
But my knowledge ends there.

Now I am required to work on Access projects too.
One advantage I have when I started Excel VBA was, I knew Excel front end very well.

This is not the case with MS Access, am new to both front end and Access coding, back-end as well.
And my works requires me to jump straight to coding part.
What will be your advice to me, I tried few YouTube videos but am more of a reader than a viewer.
Thanks a lot.

Gasman

Enthusiastic Amateur
Local time
Today, 11:49
Google normalization and get to understand it, else you will do everything the Excel way and come unstuck very very quickly.

SachAccess

Local time
Thanks for the @Gasman sir. Have a nice day ahead. :)

NauticalGent

Ignore List Poster Boy
Local time
Today, 06:49
Of course. Steve Bishop had a great series complete with working files. There are 79 videos in his beginner course and 40 in his advanced course.

Start here, best of luck!

MajP

You've got your good things, and you've got mine.
Local time
access 2002 desktop developer's handbook

Is the best Access book written. Get a used copy for a couple bucks from Amazon.

MajP

You've got your good things, and you've got mine.
Local time
Also if you look at the bottom of this thread there is a list of "Similar Threads". Look through those threads since there are lots of topics on this question. Or use the search feature on this site using terms like "Learning, Books, etc."

Uncle Gizmo

Nifty Access Guy
Staff member
Local time
Today, 11:49
My blog on "Excel in Access" here:-

May prove useful.

The_Doc_Man

Immoderate Moderator
Staff member
Local time
Today, 05:49