How to auto fill previous record value as the new record value on a form? (1 Viewer)

zoober1

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 15:08
Hey everyone,

I apologize if my question doesn't make any sense. I'm new to access so please forgive me.

I have a table called TblTransactions. The fields are as follows:

Transaction_ID (PK, auto number)
TransactionDate (Date/Time)
TransactionTime (Date/Time)
CustomerName (Text)
CompanyName (Number - CboBox)
OPSInitials (Text)
BankTotal (Number)

This table was used to create a query, and a form.

On the form, I would like the value in BankTotal from the previous record auto populate in an unbound text box called TxtCurrentBank. Here's what I've tried so far without success:

I set the Control Source of txtCurrentBank to : DLookup("[BankTotal]","[TblTransactions]","[Transaction_ID] =" & [Transaction_ID]-1)

If I delete a record, then Transaction_ID-1 doesn't exist, and the text box is blank. Also, once i close and re-open the form, the Tex Box doesn't auto populate.

I have read other threads where people have had the same problem, but couldn't figure out how to make the code work for my form.

I have tried to combine dlookup and dmax together in an expression but couldn't get that to work either.

Please help! Thank you in advance!

-Zoober

CJ_London

Super Moderator
Staff member
Local time
Today, 22:08
Your requirement needs clarification

As you have surmised, the autonumber cannot be used for anything other than uniquely identifying a record. So you need to use something like dmax to find the previous record.

But as you probably know, previous based on what order? the order entries were input based on the ID (not totally reliable to define an order of input)?, the date/time of entries were made(i.e. a timestamp - perhaps this is your transaction date/time fields?)? the date/time the entries should be ordered? (e.g. you have missed an entry from yesterday and now need to add it in placed in the right order), etc