Hyphenate values from two fields (1 Viewer)

iqJafa

Local time
Today, 14:23
Hi everyone,

I am a beginner in MS Access and trying to create a database for my sales. What I am trying to do but can't is this:

I want to create a table to record my sales, the first field would be the order number; withing each order, there would be one item or more. So in order to overcome the duplicate issue, I thought of adding an item number in another field, then another field to combine both numbers and that would be the order id and primary key.

Example:
Field 1 (order#) : Record1=1840; Record2=1840; Record3=1840
Field 2 (Item#): Record1= 01; Record2=02; Record3=03
Field 3 (Order ID): Record1=1840-01; Record2=1840-02; Record3=1840-03

Is there anyway I can achieve this?

Thank you, in advance

theDBguy

I’m here to help
Staff member
Local time
Today, 04:23
Hi. Welcome to AWF!

I think that would be the wrong approach. If you don't have it already, I would suggest using separate tables for each order item. If you're not familiar with the term "Normalization," I would recommend reading about it first before you continue with the design of your database.

Gasman

Enthusiastic Amateur
Local time
Today, 12:23
You would not create the third field, as you can always create it from the other two.?
Most systems would have an order table, and an order items table.
Have a google for the northwind db by microsoft.

iqJafa

Local time
You would not create the third field, as you can always create it from the other two.?
Most systems would have an order table, and an order items table.
Have a google for the northwind db by microsoft.
Thank you, I looked at this db in my access but it was depressing, I couldn't understand anything.

iqJafa

Local time
Hi. Welcome to AWF!